Sport Club Corinthians Paulista

The Corinthians Paulista Sport Club is the largest Brazilian sports club based in São Paulo, best known for its football section with more than 35 million fans.

Founded in 1910, Corinthians is the second most followed Brazilian football club in Brazil after Flamengo2. The club is the most successful of the São Paulo Championship of the twentieth century. In 2000, the club won its first international title with the first edition of the FIFA Club World Cup. It was again won in 2012 in Japan, where more than 35,000 fans made the trip, having been crowned champion of the Copa Libertadores without any defeat and the best campaign in the history of Brazilian football.

All sports news can be seen in Linha de Passe.

The club has included top players such as Sócrates, Rivelino, Garrincha, Domingos da Guia, Casagrande, Gamarra and Gilmar (considered as the best Brazilian goalkeeper of all time) or more recently Ronaldo, Roberto Carlos , Paulinho, Willian, Carlos Tevez, Javier Mascherano and Renato Augusto. His fans are known as “O Bando de Loucos” (“The Band of Fools”).

This club is also known for its ideological movement called Corinthian democracy, recognized in Brazil as one of the most important actions carried out with the intention of fighting the Brazilian military dictatorship. Born in 1981 and led by Sócrates and Zé Maria, this unique movement in the world will run out of steam in 1985 with the departure of its two Brazilian leaders.


A great club of the championship of São Paulo (1910-1989)

The Corinthians Paulista Sport Club was founded on September 1, 1910 by a group of Bom Retiro workers – mainly of Portuguese, Italian and Spanish origins – to create a popular club in São Paulo that would compete with the more up-and-coming clubs. The name of the club, proposed by Joaquim Ambrósio, originates from the English amateur team Corinthians FC, who won six matches in São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro during a tour in the country. The charter of the new club proclaims that “Corinthians will be the team of the people, by the people and for the people. ”

Corinthians play, and lose, the first match of its history on September 10 on the field of União Lapa Futebol Clube (PT), another team from São Paulo. Four days later, the club won its first victory against Estrela Polar, another amateur team of the city (2-0). The club quickly achieved good results and registered in Liga Paulista de Futebol (pt). Having won two play-off matches, Corinthians joined the São Paulo championship in 1913, eleven years after its first edition. After a year of learning, Corinthians won his first league title in 1914, then a second in 1916.

The season 1922, year of the centennial of the independence of Brazil, marks the beginning of a series of three titles paulistas for the white and black club. Winner of América FC, reigning champion of Rio de Janeiro, the other major championship of the country, Corinthians is therefore one of the great Brazilian clubs. Corinthians then made a new series of three championships in a row, between 1928 and 1930.

After six years without success, Corinthians won three new crowns between 1937 and 1939, then a twelfth in 1941. The 1940s are much more difficult, the white and black to face the rise of São Paulo FC, founded in 1935 .

At the beginning of the 1950s, Corinthians joined a very offensive team, where Rodolfo Carbone, Cláudio, Luisinho, Oswaldo Silva and Mário played. This talented group allows him to win three new titles paulistas in 1951, 1952 and 1954 (year of the fourth centenary of the city of São Paulo). Moreover, Corinthians wins three times the Rio-São Paulo tournament, which includes the best teams of the two major championships of Brazil, in 1950, 1953 and 19543. At the end of 1953, Corinthians participates in the Little World Cup clubs, a competition organized in Venezuela, which he wins at the expense of AS Roma, FC Barcelona and a selection of Caracas.

This first golden age of the club is followed by a long period of scarcity, which sees Santos FC de Pele and Botafogo Garrincha dominate the championship. This same Garrincha, far from the years 55-62 sign at the club Flamengo, but scored only two goals in 10 games. In 1976, Corinthians reached the final of the Brazilian Championship, created a few years earlier. The following year, the club won the Paulista championship, twenty-three years after its last trophy. This performance marks the return to the forefront of the “White and Black”, who win the championship of São Paulo again two years later (season when they do not participate exceptionally not in the national championship) then remove three new crowns in the 1980s.